San Antonio City Public Service - Distributed Generation Program

April 02, 2007


Residential and commercial customers of San Antonio City Public Service (CPS) may net meter systems up to 25 kilowatts (kW) in capacity that generate electricity using solar, hydro, wind, geothermal or biomass. Customers are awarded credit at the utility's avoided-cost rate for any net excess energy (NEG) generated during a billing cycle. The credit is applied to the customer's next bill. Customers must enter into a one-year contract that is extended automatically on an annual basis unless terminated by either party. Customers must pay the costs of interconnection with CPS and system-protection facilities. Customers also must pay for any additional equipment (e.g., a distribution transformer, service line and/or meter) required for interconnection with the utility. All customer equipment (up to the service point) will be inspected by the utility to ensure compliance with relevant city codes.

Program Overview

Implementing Sector: Utility
Category: Regulatory Policy
State: Texas
Incentive Type: Net Metering
Web Site:
Start Date:
Eligible Renewable/Other Technologies:
  • Geothermal Electric
  • Solar Photovoltaics
  • Wind (All)
  • Biomass
  • Hydroelectric
  • Landfill Gas
  • Tidal
  • Wave
  • Wind (Small)
Applicable Utilities: 25 kW
System Capacity Limit: None
Aggregate Capacity Limit: Credited to customer's next bill at utility's seasonal avoided-cost rate
Net Excess Generation: San Antonio City Public Service


Name: Rider E5 - Customer-Owned Distributed Generation Renewable Energy ServiceApplication
Effective Date: 2002


Name: Karma Nilsson
Organization: San Antonio City Public Service
Address: 7000 San Pedro
San Antonio TX 78216-6208
Phone: (210) 353-2815

This information is sourced from DSIRE; the most comprehensive source of information on incentives and policies that support renewables and energy efficiency in the United States. Established in 1995, DSIRE is operated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University.