North Dakota - Residential Energy-Efficient Appliance Rebate Program

August 11, 2011


Note: Under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) is providing a total of $300 million to U.S. states, U.S. territories and the District of Columbia to establish rebate programs for new energy-efficient appliances that replace existing appliances in homes. Each state and territory has designed its own program. Rebates will be available until the state or territory program's funding is exhausted. Be sure to confirm that rebate funds are still available in your state or territory before making purchasing decisions.

North Dakota's appliance rebate program, which began April 6, 2010, is currently on hold for new applications while the North Dakota Department of Commerce determines how much funding remains. The remaining funds likely will become available to new applications in September 2010.

This program provides a rebate of $150 to North Dakota residents who replace a full-size, existing refrigerator with a new, full-size Energy Star refrigerator. Only qualifying refrigerators purchased after the program takes effect will be eligible for a rebate. See the program web site (above) for additional eligibility requirements and for contact information if you have questions about the program. The program will end when all funding has been committed.

Program Overview

Implementing Sector: State
Category: Financial Incentive
State: North Dakota
Incentive Type: Rebate Program
Web Site:
Start Date:
Eligible Renewable/Other Technologies:
  • Refrigerators/Freezers
Incentive Amount: $150
Equipment Requirements: Must meet federal Energy Star qualifications
Installation Requirements: Must replace existing refrigerator

This information is sourced from DSIRE; the most comprehensive source of information on incentives and policies that support renewables and energy efficiency in the United States. Established in 1995, DSIRE is operated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University.