Town of Southampton - Photovoltaic (PV) Rebate Program

January 20, 2010


Note: This program is currently closed to new applications, but local officials are considering a new budget allocation and revised program rules. The Town of Southampton, NY offers rebates to individuals and commercial entities that install solar photovoltaic (PV) systems designed to produce electricity for on-site use. A flat rebate of $2,500 is available for PV systems of 5 kilowatts (kW) AC or larger. Smaller systems are not eligible to receive a rebate and the applicant must have actually paid the cost of installation of the system. Systems must be in compliance with all applicable state and local laws and codes. In order to claim the rebate, applicants must submit a certificate of compliance, an electrical certificate, and a paid invoice to the Chief Building Inspector. Commercial applications may require a site-plan review prior to the issuance of a building permit, but such reviews will be done on an expedited basis and all Town fees associated with the review are waived. The initial budget for the rebate program is $50,000, sufficient to cover 20 rebates. Under the current rules, the program is retroactive to systems installed after January 1, 2006 and set to expire December 31, 2009.

Program Overview

Implementing Sector: Local
Category: Financial Incentive
State: New York
Incentive Type: Rebate Program
Web Site:
Administrator: Town of Southampton
Start Date: 01/01/2006
Eligible Renewable/Other Technologies:
  • Solar Photovoltaics
Incentive Amount: $2,500
Eligible System Size: Minimum size: 5 kW AC


Name: Southampton Town Code § Chapter 176
Effective Date: 01/01/2006


Name: Michael Benincasa
Address: 116 Hampton Road
Southampton NY 11968
Phone: (631) 287-5700

This information is sourced from DSIRE; the most comprehensive source of information on incentives and policies that support renewables and energy efficiency in the United States. Established in 1995, DSIRE is operated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University.