Residential Energy Efficiency Rebate Program

May 17, 2023


As part of its Residential rebate program, Hawaii Energy provides rebates to residences for heat pump water heaters, central air conditioning system tune-ups, refrigerator trade-ups, ceiling fans, CFL light bulbs and other improvements. These rebates are available to residential electric utility ratepayers on Hawaii Island, Lanai, Maui, Molokai and Oahu only. In order to be eligible for this rebate, residents must live in their homes year round and purchase a program approved piece of equipment. Applications must be postmarked no more than sixty days after equipment purchase. Please allow 6 – 8 weeks for processing. Interested customers can view a list of equipment, retailers and program details on the program web site. Contact Hawaii Energy for additional information on these rebates. 

Program Overview

Implementing Sector: State
Category: Financial Incentive
State: Hawaii
Incentive Type: Rebate Program
Web Site:
Administrator: Hawaii Energy
Start Date:
Eligible Renewable/Other Technologies:
  • Refrigerators/Freezers
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Water Heaters
  • Lighting
  • Air conditioners
  • Pool Pumps
Incentive Amount: CFL Bulbs: Instant in-store rebates
Heat Pump Water Heater: $500
Central A/C: $1,000
Window Air Conditioner Trade-Up: $45
Mini-Split A/C: $450 Air Conditioner Tune-Up: $75
Solar Attic Fans: $750
Whole House Fans: $100
Refrigerator/Freezer Recycling : $75
New Refrigerator Purchase (with Trade-in): $250
Variable Frequency Drive (VFD) Pool Pump: $150
Equipment Requirements: All appliances must be ENERGY STAR rated
See program web site for additional details


Organization: Hawaii Energy Efficiency Program
Address: 1132 Bishop Street
Honolulu HI 96813
Phone: (808) 537-5577

This information is sourced from DSIRE; the most comprehensive source of information on incentives and policies that support renewables and energy efficiency in the United States. Established in 1995, DSIRE is operated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University.