Efficient Vehicle Incentive Program

September 01, 2002


The Energy Commission in partnership with automakers, Air Districts, and the Mobile Source Emission Reduction Committee has launched an efficient vehicle program. The program promotes the purchase of clean efficient gasoline and alternative fuel vehicles. One goal of the program is to decrease petroleum use in California vehicles. The program showcases the most fuel-efficient vehicles and provide information on new cars with the best fuel economy for their vehicle class. Depending on the county you live in, this program is offering incentives up to $1,000 for efficient gasoline fuel vehicles and up to $3,000 for dedicated natural gas vehicles purchased or leased to individuals and fleet buyers. Incentive amounts vary by county. Incentives are provided through the manufacturer at the time of purchase or lease to customers on a first-come, first served basis. Several models will are eligible for incentives under this program. Eligible vehicles include natural gas and other alternative fueled vehicles, super-efficient gasoline vehicles, and hybrid electric vehicles.

Program Overview

Implementing Sector: State
Category: Financial Incentive
State: California
Incentive Type: Rebate Program
Web Site: http://www.consumerenergycenter.org/vehicles/incentive/default.php?ID=19
Administrator: California Energy Commission
Start Date:
Eligible Renewable/Other Technologies:
  • Renewable Fuel Vehicles
Incentive Amount: Varies by county
Maximum Incentive: $1,000 for efficient gasoline fuel vehicles; $3,000 for dedicated natural gas vehicles


Name: Irene Salazar
Organization: California Energy Commission
Address: 1516 9th Street
Sacramento CA 95814
Phone: (916) 657-4046
Email: isalazar@energy.state.ca.us

This information is sourced from DSIRE; the most comprehensive source of information on incentives and policies that support renewables and energy efficiency in the United States. Established in 1995, DSIRE is operated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University.