< Return to FAQs

Can electric utility customers choose their electricity supplier?

Yes, in some states, electric utility customers are able to choose their electricity supplier. This is known as electric choice or electricity deregulation. Currently, 19 states and Washington, D.C. have electricity deregulation programs, allowing customers to choose their electricity supplier from a variety of competitive retail electric providers.

States with Deregulated Electricity Markets

Connecticut: Connecticut Power & Light, United Illuminating.

Delaware: Delmarva Power & Light Company (Delmarva Power), Delaware Electric Co-op (DEC).

Maine: Emera Maine, Central Maine Power (CMP).

Massachusetts: Eversource, Unitil (Fitchburg Gas & Electric), National Grid.

New Hampshire: Public Service Company of New Hampshire (PSNH), Liberty, Unitil, New Hampshire Electric Cooperative, Inc.

Texas: American Electric Power (AEP) Central, AEP North, CenterPoint, Oncor, Sharyland, and Texas New Mexico Power (TNMP).

States with Deregulated Gas Markets

Florida: Central Florida Gas (CFG)

Georgia: Atlanta Gas Light (AGL)

Indiana: NIPSCO

Kentucky: Columbia Gas

Michigan: Consumers Energy, DTE Energy, Michigan Gas Utilities, and SEMCO Energy Gas Company.

Montana: Northwestern Energy, Energy West Montana.

Virginia: Columbia Gas, Washington Gas (WGL).

Wyoming: SourceGas.

States with Deregulated Electricity and Gas Markets


Electricity: Ameren, Commonwealth Edison Company (ComEd).

Natural gas: Nicor, North Shore, Peoples Gas.


Electricity: Baltimore Gas and Electric (BGE), Choptank Electric Cooperative, Delmarva Power and Light, Potomac Edison, Potomac Electric Power Company (Pepco), SMECO.

Natural gas: Baltimore Gas and Electric Company (BGE), Washington Gas Light (WGL) (gas).

New Jersey

Electricity: Atlantic City Electric, Jersey Central Power & Light, PSEG, Rockland Electric.

Natural gas: Elizabethtown Gas, New Jersey Natural Gas, PSEG, South Jersey Gas.

New York

Electricity and gas: Central Hudson, Consolidated Edison (ConEd), National Grid, New York State Electric and Gas (NYSEG), Orange & Rockland, and Rochester Gas & Electric (RG&E).

Natural gas: Corning Natural Gas, National Fuel Gas Distribution, St. Lawrence Natural Gas.


Electricity: AEP Ohio, Dayton Power & Light (DP&L), Duke Energy Ohio, the FirstEnergy companies Ohio Edison, The Illuminating Company, Toledo Edison.

Natural gas: Columbia Gas, Dominion East Ohio, Duke Energy, Vectren Energy Delivery.


Electricity: Citizens' Electric, Duquesne Light, Met-Ed, PECO Energy, Penelec, Penn Power, Pike County Light & Power, PPL Electric Utilities, UGI, Wellsboro Electric, West Penn Power.

Natural gas Columbia Gas, Peoples Natural Gas – Equitable Division, National Fuel Gas, PECO Gas, Peoples Natural Gas, Peoples TWP, Philadelphia Gas Works, UGI Utilities, UGI Central Penn Gas, and UGI Penn Natural Gas.

Rhode Island

National Grid

States with No Energy Choice

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, and Wisconsin.